OPTIMETA

Strengthening the Open Access publishing system through open citations and spatiotemporal metadata

With its Open Access strategy, it is the declared aim of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) to drive forward the transformation to Open Access and thus to be able to make an ever-increasing number of scientific contributions freely available to all interested parties. The joint project OPTIMETA, funded by the BMBF, supports the attractiveness of independent OA journals as publication venues by substantially improving the findability and visibility of OA publications through the enrichment and networking of article metadata.

 

The technical implementation of the project takes place in two OJS plug-ins. With these, authors and editors can create or extract the geographic and citation data during the publication process of an article, validate it if necessary and transfer it to open, freely licensed data sources, such as Wikidata, when the article is published. In order to strengthen in particular independent OA journals run by the scientific community, professional organisations or universities, which usually have few human and financial resources, OPTIMETA will rely on automatic and semi-automatic processes. In addition, the focus will be on user-friendliness and sustainability of the software as well as the adaptation of the application to the needs of the user groups (authors, editors, OJS hosters and OA publishers). This is ensured by a user-centred design and iterative, agile development processes in constant exchange with the future users of the project results and the OJS community and in particular with a group of partner journals.

How to cite

Hauschke, Christian; Nüst, Daniel, Cordts, Anette; Lilienthal, Svantje (2021): OPTIMETA – Strengthening the Open Access publishing system through open citations and spatiotemporal metadata. Research Ideas and Outcomes 7: e66264. https://doi.org/10.3897/rio.7.e66264

News

We will present OPTIMETA at this year's German Library Congress in Leipzig.

The talk will take place as part of the session "Daten und Normdaten" on…


We will give a lightning talk at this year's FORCE 2021 conference at 8 December 2021, 11:00 UTC (https://force2021.sched.com/event/pk6J/force11-commu…


We are pleased to participate with OPTIMETA at the Open Publishing Fest (https://www.openpublishingfest.org/) on 11/18/2021. Gazi Yücel (TIB) will…


The OPTIMETA project will present itself at this year's Open Access Days as part of the poster session.


Microsoft Academic, one of the largest academic search engines and data sources, will be shut down at the end of 2021. What does that mean? And is…


The application for the OPTIMETA project was published in the RIO Journal


Would you like to keep up to date with OPTIMETA and stay in touch with us? Follow our project @optmta on Twitter!


For the OPTIMETA project, we are looking for a software developer for the sub-project at the German National Library of Science and Technology (TIB).…


Final of the little tour for this special milestone.

Der Beitrag Science in its audiovisual diversity – highlights from 30,000 videos in the TIB…


Follow @OPTMTA on Twitter!

OPTIMETA

Motivation und Vorgehen

Mit seiner Open-Access-Strategie ist es erklärtes Ziel des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), die Transformation zu Open Access voranzutreiben und so eine immer größere Anzahl wissenschaftlicher Beiträge allen Interessierten frei zur Verfügung stellen zu können. Das vom BMBF geförderte Verbundvorhaben OPTIMETA unterstützt die Attraktivität von unabhängigen Open-Access-Zeitschriften als Publikationsort, indem durch eine Anreicherung und Vernetzung von Artikel-Metadaten die Auffindbarkeit und Sichtbarkeit von OA-Publikationen substanziell verbessert werden.

Die technische Umsetzung des Vorhabens erfolgt in zwei OJS-Plugins. Mit diesen können Autor*innen und Herausgeber*innen während des Publikationsvorgangs eines Artikels die Geo- und Zitationsdaten erstellen beziehungsweise extrahieren, gegebenenfalls validieren und mit der Veröffentlichung des Artikels an offene, frei lizenzierte Datenquellen, wie zum Beispiel Wikidata, übermitteln. Um insbesondere unabhängige, von der Wissenschaftscommunity, Fachorganisationen oder Universitäten betriebene, OA-Zeitschriften mit üblicherweise geringen personellen und finanziellen Ressourcen zu stärken, wird OPTIMETA auf automatische und teilautomatische Verfahren setzen. Darüber hinaus stehen Benutzerfreundlichkeit und Nachhaltigkeit der Software sowie die Anpassung der Anwendung an die Bedürfnisse der Nutzergruppen (Autor*innen, Herausgeber*innen, OJS-Hoster und Open-Access-Verlage) im Fokus. Dies wird sichergestellt durch ein user-centered Design und iterative, agile Entwicklungsprozesse in stetigem Austausch mit den zukünftigen Anwender*innen des Projektergebnisses und der OJS-Community und insbesondere mit einer Gruppe von Partnerzeitschriften.

Zitiervorschlag

Hauschke, Christian; Nüst, Daniel, Cordts, Anette; Lilienthal, Svantje (2021): OPTIMETA – Strengthening the Open Access publishing system through open citations and spatiotemporal metadata. Research Ideas and Outcomes 7: e66264. https://doi.org/10.3897/rio.7.e66264

Aktuelles

Wir werden OPTIMETA beim diesjährigen Bibliothekskongress in Leipzig vorstellen.

Der Vortrag wird im Rahmen der Session "Daten und Normdaten" am…


Die Anmeldemöglichkeit für den Workshop "Journals in der Open-Access-Transformation" am 19.5.2022 ist geöffnet und die Agenda ist veröffentlicht.


OPTIMETA stellt sich als eines von fünf BMBF-Projekten, die verschiedene Aspekte von Open-Access-Journals bearbeiten, am 19.5.2022 in einem Workshop…


Bei der diesjährigen FORCE2021-Konferenz am 8. Dezember 2021 wird Christian Hauschke von OPTIMETA in der Zeit zwischen 12:00 und 13:00 Uhr MEZ in…


We are pleased to participate with OPTIMETA at the Open Publishing Fest (https://www.openpublishingfest.org/) on 11/18/2021. Gazi Yücel (TIB) will…


Wissenschaftliche Publikationen werden mit Metadaten such- und auffindbar gemacht. Wir stellen vor, wie das BMBF-Projekt OPTIMETA Open-Access-Journals…


Das Projekt OPTIMETA stellt sich bei den diesjährigen Open-Access-Tagen im Rahmen der Poster-Session vor.


Mit Microsoft Academic wird eine der größten wissenschaftlichen Suchmaschinen und Datenquellen zum Ende des Jahres 2021 abgeschaltet. Was bedeutet…


Projektantrag für  OPTIMETA im RIO-Journal veröffentlicht


Sie möchten über OPTIMETA auf dem Laufenden und mit uns in Kontakt bleiben? Folgen Sie unserem Projekt unter https://twitter.com/optmta auf Twitter!


Folgen Sie @OPTMTA auf Twitter!