TAPIR - Partially automated persistent identifier based reporting

In the joint project TAPIR (Partially Automated Persistent Identifier-based Reporting), partially automated procedures for research reporting are being tested in the context of university and non-university research. The possibilities for implementing partially automated reporting are being analysed. To this end, the question is being investigated as to the extent to which the necessary data aggregation can be carried out on the basis of openly available research information using persistent identifiers.

The benefits of the project for research institutions that are subject to reporting obligations are manifold and can be outlined with the following points:

  • Efficiency gains in the area of data import and data maintenance.
  • The use of open data sources and standards provides a broader basis for data import and prevents lock-in effects caused by the limitation to certain databases of proprietary providers.
  • The bundling and automation of data import via persistent identifiers reduces the effort for data verification, duplicate checks and adaptations to already used or proprietary metadata schemas due to the underlying standardised metadata and thus supports the quality assurance process.
  • The structuring of the information via nationally and internationally established metadata standards facilitates adaptation to the specifications of the core data set research and contributes to the comparability of research information across institutions.

At this year's VIVO workshop the TAPIR project will give a presentation about our project plan and first steps of ingesting data into local VIVO…


Your tasks:

  • Collaboration in the field of research information and CRIS within the framework of the joint project TAPIR (Partially Automated…


Details can be found in the job advertisement on the TIB website.

TAPIR - TeilAutomatisiertes Persistent-Identifier-basiertes Reporting

Im Verbundvorhaben TAPIR (TeilAutomatisiertes Persistent-Identifier-basiertes Reporting) werden teilautomatisierte Verfahren zur Forschungsberichterstattung im Kontext universitärer und außeruniversitärer Forschung erprobt. Es werden die Möglichkeiten zur Realisierung eines teilautomatisierten Reportings analysiert. Dazu wird der Frage nachgegangen, inwiefern die dazu notwendige Datenaggregation auf Basis offen verfügbarer Forschungsinformationen mittels persistenter Identifikatoren durchgeführt werden kann.

Der Nutzen des Projekts für Forschungseinrichtungen, die Berichtspflichten unterliegen, ist vielseitig und kann mit den folgenden Punkten umrissen werden:

  • Effizienzgewinne im Bereich des Datenimports und der Datenpflege.
  • Die Nutzung offener Datenquellen und Standards bietet eine breitere Basis für den Datenimport und verhindert Lock-in-Effekte, die durch die Beschränkung auf bestimmte Datenbanken proprietärer Anbieter entstehen.
  • Die Bündelung und Automatisierung des Datenimports über persistente Identifikatoren verringert durch die zugrunde liegenden standardisierten Metadaten den Aufwand für die Verifizierung der Daten, Dublettenprüfungen und Anpassungen an bereits genutzte oder eigene Metadatenschemata und unterstützt auf diese Weise den Qualitätssicherungsprozess.
  • Die Strukturierung der Informationen über national und international etablierte Metadatenstandards erleichtert eine Anpassung an die Spezifikationen des Kerndatensatzes Forschung und trägt zur institutionenübergreifenden Vergleichbarkeit von Forschungsinformationen bei.

 

Auf dem diesjährigen VIVO-Workshop wird auch das Projekt TAPIR mit einem Vortrag vertreten sein. Darin möchten wir einen Überblick über das…


Ihre Aufgaben:

  • Mitarbeit im Themenfeld Forschungsinformationen und FIS
    im Rahmen des vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)…

Details entnehmen Sie bitte der Stellenausschreibung auf der Webseite der TIB.